Everything about food, from matching food and wine to recipes, techniques and trends.

Do you like rhubarb?

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Jenise

Rank

FLDG Dishwasher

Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:45 pm

The Pacific Northest Westest

Do you like rhubarb?

by Jenise » Mon Jun 08, 2020 6:37 pm

Personally, I have very little experience with it. Until very recently, I've had mostly inept, runny, soggy rhubarb pies and the like which absolutely killed any curiosity I had about it. Oh, and when I was a kid, my Grammy would make this green sludge that she'd eat out of a bowl at breakfast.

Then two things happened since moving to Washington: at a multi-course dinner in Vancouver designed for barolo, the chef served a genius course that was seared foie gras on an oaty rhubarb crumble that was the absolute perfection of sweet/sour in a way that matched the wines brilliantly. Would never in a million years have paired those two items but it was perfect in execution and purpose. And then, we went to Iceland one April where rhubarb in various delicious forms was a common garnish or ingredient at various high end restaurants. I guess it grows easily in volcanic rock.

So last week I was doing a southern themed dinner for another couple who happen to have a rhubarb plant but very little idea what to do with it--besides make desserts. So I bought a single branch of rhubarb with which to make a creamy vinaigrette dressing for grilled halves of little gem lettuce. And I picked the reddest one in the pile.