The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

WTN: Grosset Polish Hill Riesling 2002

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Tim Steffens

Rank

Cellar rat

Thu May 11, 2006 1:51 pm

Moscow, Idaho

WTN: Grosset Polish Hill Riesling 2002

by Tim Steffens » Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:57 pm

I have been collecting these wines for every vintage since 2001 and since the 2006 has been released, I wanted to make sure I still wanted to continue my vertical (as my tastes have changed a bit over time). I decided to make a Coconut Ginger Garlic Shrimp pasta dish to hopefully compliment the wine. I had the wine straight from the cellar (about 52°F) and it was a screw cap. The first glass while cooking was lovely, rich, with a bit of vanilla and a slight amount of peach, and underlying mineral of some sort (you know that wet rock thing) in the nose. In the mouth, up front there was nice peach/lime leading to a bit thin mineral mid-palate and then a very long lingering lime peel finish. I thought ok, but was it really worth the $30 a bottle? Well, about an hour later with dinner the wine picked up much more fullness in the mouth (coating the mouth with the flavors mentioned above with a nice full mid-palate and even longer finish) and some slight floral component in the nose. It was a perfect match with the food also, even with the spiciness of the food. Based on how well it performed I have decided to continue my vertical. I have a question though for those of you who have had this wine before. Was it the aeration or the warming up of the wine (or both) that really improved the wine? I suspect a bit of both. How long should I age these wines... anyone? Thanks all.
no avatar
User

Hoke

Rank

Achieving Wine Immortality

Sat Apr 15, 2006 1:07 am

Portland, OR

Re: WTN: Grosset Polish Hill Riesling 2002

by Hoke » Thu Jan 25, 2007 1:40 pm